Chapels and Grounds of Streatham Cemetery

 

 

When Streatham Cemetery opened in 1893 there were two lodges, each at a set of gates opening onto Garratt Lane and two mirror image chapels. The buildings were designed by William Newton- Dunn and contructed in gothic ragstone. The main entrance has the words Streatham Cemetery inscribed across the portico stonework. The chapels each have side rooms or vestrys off the entrance halls and arcaded porches set at right angles to the entrances. This feature is known as a 'jericho' or 'portes cochere' in architectural jargon.
After the first world war a memorial with sacrificial cross and screen wall was placed in the cemetery. The memorial was originally dedicated to WW1 casualties with names inscribed on the screen wall. Names of the fallen from World War 2 were later added to the lower facing walls. There is a second memorial alongside the western perimeter wall dedicated to Wandsworth residents killed by enemy action.


As well as numerous crosses and angels in a variety of styles, interesting grave monuments include a magnificent obelisk facing the main entrance. Nearby is the figure of a grieving woman in blue dated 1959 and the elaborate Harmer family monument with violin. Also in that section, John Krall's grave dated 1903 consists of dramatic black granite blocks and in front, a slate inscribed with a musical score, indicating a musician. In front of the chapel on the left of the main entrance Henry Budden's grave can be found with a beautiful blue terracota temple dated 1907.


More recently, benches have been placed at strategic places in the cemetery, so that visitors can sit and enjoy views of the tranquil natural surroundings.